and Projects

Data and Maps



home > programs and projects > transportation

SEMCOG Planning Certification Review

SEMCOG Transportation Certification Report

SEMCOG Public Comment Notice, Deadline for Certification Review was February 17, 2012

Federal law in 23 USC §134 requires every urbanized area with a population over 50,000 to have a designated metropolitan planning organization (MPO) to carry out continuous, comprehensive, and cooperative transportation planning. SEMCOG’s current designation covers the counties of Wayne, Washtenaw, Oakland, Macomb, Monroe, St.Clair, and Livingston.  In order for transportation providers in these areas – including the state and local governments and public transportation operators – to continue to receive federal transportation funds, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA), in accordance with 23 USC §134(k)(5), must certify SEMCOG’s compliance with the federal transportation planning regulations not less than once every four years. Previously, SECMOG was certified compliant on June 8, 2008.

2012 SEMCOG Certification Presentation
January 11, 2012 SEMCOG Public Meeting Presentation
2008 Certification Review Recommendations
SEMCOG November 2011 Response to 2008 Recommendations 

The following links are being provided for the FHWA, FTA, and other reviewing agencies and members of the public in an effort to streamline the review process.  The following are Certification Topics identified in the Certification Scope of Review on the Federal Highway Administration Web Site.