and Projects

Data and Maps



home > about > what semcog does

What is SEMCOGSEMCOG Officers

SEMCOG’s officers are made up of a Chairperson, First Vice Chairperson (who is Chairperson elect), four Vice Chairpersons, and Immediate Past Chairperson. SEMCOG Bylaws require that officers be balanced between the blocs (Counties, Cities & Villages, Townships, and Education) of the organization. Voting delegates or elected- official alternates to SEMCOG’s Executive Committee are eligible for SEMCOG officer positions. Officers are elected at SEMCOG’s June Annual Meeting. The following officers will serve for the 2014-2015 term.

SEMCOG 2014-2015 Officers

Kathy D. Vosburg
Kathy Vosburg
Commissioner, Macomb County

Kathy Vosburg is currently serving her sixth two-year term as Macomb County Commissioner, representing District 8 (Lenox and Chesterfield Townships, the Village of New Haven, and the City of New Baltimore). She served as Board Chair from 2011-2012. She has served in a variety of capacities at SEMCOG, including Chair of the Environmental Policy Advisory Council, member of the Executive Committee, and delegate to the General Assembly. She attended Harvard University’s Senior Executives in State and Local Government Program as a Taubman fellow in 2007. She is a great SEMCOG supporter. Both Lenox and Chesterfield Townships joined in the past year. Vosburg has a degree in Business Administration from Detroit College of Business and owns an income tax consulting business. She and her husband have three married sons and five grandchildren.

Jeffrey Jenks
Jeff Jenks
First Vice Chair
City Commissioner, Huntington Woods

Jeff Jenks has been a Commissioner in the City of Huntington Woods since 1999. He has a long career working in the public sector and was president of the Michigan Municipal League in 2010. He has been involved with SEMCOG for 30 years, serving on many committees, including the Data Center Advisory Council that he chaired from 1999-2007, and as First Vice Chair will become SEMCOG Chair in 2015-2016. He is a member of SEMCOG's Executive Committee and General Assembly. Jenks attended Harvard University’s Senior Executives in State and Local Government Program as a Taubman fellow in 2007. He has a degree in economics and political science from Eastern Michigan University, with graduate work at Wayne State University. He has owned and managed an internet-based travel agency since 1988. Jenks served in the Peace Corps as an elementary school teacher in the Philippines from 1962-1964. 

Robert Clark
Robert Clark
Vice Chairperson
Mayor, City of Monroe
Robert Clark has been Mayor of the City of Monroe since 2010, having served one term as Councilman in 2008. He previously served on the Citizens Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Appeals for Monroe. Since 2010 he has been an active member of SEMCOG and since 2012 has served on the Finance and Budget Committee. Prior to holding elected office, he served 30 years with the Michigan State Police, retiring in 2010. He retired at the rank of Major and as a member of the Michigan State Police Executive Council. Beginning in 2005, Clark worked closely with SEMCOG on transportation issues, including the Regional Concept for Transportation Operations for Metro Detroit, which received a planning excellence award from the Federal Highway Administration in 2008.

Rodrick Green
Rod Green
Vice Chairperson
Trustee, Superior Charter Township
Rodrick Green has a long history of involvement in Superior Township. He is currently a Trustee, and has also served on the township Board of Review and Board of Appeals. He is an attorney with law offices in Ann Arbor and Detroit. He has earned a degree in Business Administration from Wayne State University, a Masters in Divinity from Virginia Union University and his Juris Doctor in Law from the University of Michigan. Green has served in the U.S. Army and the Michigan National Guard. He is a member of SEMCOG’s Executive Committee and Finance and Budget Committee, and has also served on the Bylaws and Legal Committee. Rod and his wife have twin daughters.

Phil LaJoy
Phil Lajoy
Vice Chairperson
Supervisor, Canton Charter Township
Phil LaJoy has been Supervisor of the Charter Township of Canton since 2008. As the township’s chief administrator, he is responsible for overseeing the operation of all township departments, acting as chairperson for Board of Trustees meetings, appointing board and commission members, preparing and monitoring the budget, and serving on numerous local and regional boards and committees. Prior to becoming Canton Township Supervisor, he served as State Representative for the 21st District for six years and was a township Trustee from 1989-2003. He also has 25 years of experience in the private sector in personnel and human resources. He has served on the SEMCOG Transportation Advisory Council since 2008 and was Chair from 2010-2012. He has also served on SEMCOG's Legislative Policy Task Force and is co-chair of the SEMCOG/MAC Labor Local Government Task Force. Other previous committees and service include Canton Township Merit Commissioner; Canton Chamber of Commerce; Chairperson, Saint Joseph Mercy Community Advisory Council; SEMCOG Infrastructure Task Force; and various committees through the Michigan House of Representatives. 

Karl Tomion
Vice Chairperson
Commissioner, St. Clair County

Karl Tomion was elected to the St. Clair County Board of Commissioners in 2013, after retiring from a 35-year career in municipal management. He was City Manager of four Michigan cities – Algonac, Dowagiac, Midland, and Port Huron. In his first term on the County Board, he was selected to represent St. Clair County on SEMCOG's Executive Committee. He has also worked on the Bylaws and Taubman Scholarship Committees. He was very active in the Michigan Municipal League; he served on its Board of Directors and as Chair of its Workmen's Compensation Fund. As a member of the Michigan Local Government Management Association, he was elected President and was appointed as the Committee Chair of Public Policy and Ethics. Tomion graduated from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, with a Bachelors Degree, and from Wayne State University with a Master's Degree in Public Administration. In 2008, he received the Jack M. Patriarche award from the Michigan Local Government Management Association for outstanding service in Michigan City Management.

Joan Gebhardt
Immediate Past Chair
Treasurer, Schoolcraft College
Joan Gebhardt was the first SEMCOG Chairperson representing community colleges in the 45-year history of the organization. She was appointed to the Schoolcraft Community College Board of Trustees to fill a vacancy in January 2007. She went on to win the seat in her own right the following May. Since 2007, she has been an active and supportive member of SEMCOG, was elected Vice-Chairperson in 2009, and Chairperson in 2014. She has served on the Education Bloc, Taubman Fellows Selection Committee, and Membership and Legislative Task Forces. Gebhardt served two terms on the Wayne County Board of Commissioners representing Westland, Inkster, and south Livonia in District 12. Her core career was that of a public school teacher and administrator.  She and her husband have two children and one grandchild.

Kathleen Lomako
Kathleen Lomako
Executive Director
Kathleen Lomako joined SEMCOG in 1979 and has served in a variety of planning and administrative capacities, and is a certified community planner. She became Executive Director in 2014. She attended the Program for Senior Executives in State and Local Government at Harvard’s John F. Kennedy School of Government in summer 2003. Lomako is involved with the National Association of Regional Councils (NARC), and currently serves on the Board of the Michigan Society of Association Executives.