All SEMCOG policy decisions are made by local elected leaders, ensuring that regional policies reflect the interests of member communities. Participants serve on one or both of SEMCOG's policy-making bodies — the General Assembly and the Executive Committee. These bodies act on recommendations developed through SEMCOG's various engagement methods. We engage regional stakeholders from local governments, the business community, and other special-interest and citizen groups.

SEMCOG General Assembly

The General Assembly consists of all delegates and alternates from SEMCOG member communities and institutions. It is an opportunity for SEMCOG members to network and share best practices on a regional level. The General Assembly provides input and takes action on SEMCOG's major regional plans. All elected officials in each member community and other regional stakeholders are encouraged to attend the General Assembly; however, only the delegate or alternate, who have been appointed by their governing bodies, can vote. The General Assembly meets in the late afternoon three times a year at locations throughout the region.

General Assembly agendas and minutes

SEMCOG Executive Committee

The Executive Committee conducts the main policy work of the organization. It monitors the operation of SEMCOG. As the chief working committee of SEMCOG and the financial control body for the organization, it proposes, discusses, and reviews regional studies and plans, and takes action on policies and legislative positions. It is a subset of the General Assembly, meeting seven months of the year when the General Assembly is not in session. Meetings are usually held in SEMCOG’s offices on the fourth Thursday or Friday of the month and are preceded by a networking lunch.

Executive Committee agendas and minutes

Transportation Coordinating Council (TCC)

The Transportation Coordinating Council (TCC) works to develop and implement the Long-Range Transportation Plan. This includes monitoring and implementing the long-range transportation plan through the Transportation Improvement Program and recommending transportation projects and amendments. This work will be enhanced by Including a diverse set of stakeholders on the council, including those with expertise in local economic development, the environment, workforce development, and education. Goals are to align planning initiatives, improve project coordination, and enhance regional performance measures. Reports to the Executive Committee.

Transportation Coordinating Council agendas and minutes

Regional Clearinghouse Review Committee (RC2)

The Regional Clearinghouse Review Committee (RC2) oversees applications for federal and state assistance in Southeast Michigan. The applications are reviewed for consistency with adopted regional plans and policies. RC2 also selects projects to be funded annually by the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) – approximately $5 million per year. RC2 is comprised of local elected officials elected by Bloc Caucuses and appointed by the Chairperson to represent the issue areas in which SEMCOG works.

Bylaws and Legal Committee

Meets as needed to review, amend, and/or adopt organizational policy. Reports to the General Assembly.

Finance and Budget Committee

The Finance and Budget Committee oversees the finances of SEMCOG. It meets four-to-six times per year to recommend approval of the budget and work program, contracts, major purchases, and leases. It also reviews financial statements and audits. Reports to the General Assembly.


Rock Abboud, Councilmember (DEL)
Village of Beverly Hills
18500 W 13 Mile Rd
Beverly Hills, MI 48025-5267
John Grzyb, Jr., President (DEL)
Village Of Capac
131 N Main St
Capac, MI 48014-3143
Henry Lievens, Board Of Commissioners Chairperson, District 9 (DEL)
Monroe County

Riga, MI 49276
John W. Morgan, Supervisor (DEL)
Sumpter Township
23480 Sumpter Rd
Belleville, MI 48111-9679
Ronald Trombly, Supervisor (DEL)
Lenox Township
63775 Gratiot Ave
Lenox, MI 48050-2517
Kirk Westphal, Councilmember, Ward 2 (DEL)
City of Ann Arbor
690 Peninsula Ct
Ann Arbor, MI 48105-2506
DeAndre Windom, Mayor (DEL)
City Of Highland Park
12050 Woodward Ave
Highland Park, MI 48203-3578


Christopher Boyd, Trustee (ALT)
Lenox Township
63775 Gratiot Ave
Lenox, MI 48050-2517
Sean Clark, Administrative Supervisor/Citistat Coordinator (ALT)
City Of Warren
1 City Sq
Warren, MI 48093-5291
Thelma Kubitskey, Deputy Mayor (ALT)
City Of Westland
36300 Warren Rd
Westland, MI 48185
David Simpson, City Commissioner (ALT)
City of Marine City
303 S Water St
Marine City, MI 48039-1694
Chuck Warpehoski, Councilmember, Ward 5 (ALT)
City of Ann Arbor
301 E Huron St
Ann Arbor, MI 48104-1908

Executive Committee


Walter Ruhl, Supervisor (ALT)
Whiteford Township
8000 Yankee Rd Ste 100
Ottawa Lake, MI 49267-9505
Dave Uhl, Village Manager (ALT)
Village of Dundee
350 W Monroe St
Dundee, MI 48131-1273
Developing Regional Solutions
SEMCOG is a regional planning partnership of governmental units serving 4.7 million people in the seven-county region of Southeast Michigan striving to enhance the region's quality of life.